See ya next year

WOW! I think that sums it up best. This weekend was damn near perfect. Everyone came together and had a great time. Unfortunately, we did not even come close to covering our costs, let alone raising money for FODC, but other than the financial aspect the weekend was a complete success.

We had a few power issues that had to be dealt with but we got that situated eventually. There were also a hand full of people who, for what ever reason, did not feel compelled to donate to the cause and decided that they should get free food and beer anyway. And the worst thing that happened is someone decided to steal the leftover buns, plates, and forks and spoons. If you needed the stuff that bad I would have given it to you. If  the people who did this happen to read this, please don’t come back next year. You are not welcome.

With all the negative stuff out of the way lets move on to the fantastic things that went on this weekend….

It all got started early in the week when my neighbors, Dave Shaffer, Mike Smyth, Jamie Hamlin, Chris Baker, and Joe Watring came out to help get things prepared. We built the stage, ran lights, and set up tents, tables, and chairs. Of course we had a few beers at the end of the evening. While we were doing this, Erin and her friend Kristen made signs, cleaned the garage, hung more lights, and lots more.

On Thursday my good friends Ian Bode and Brian Buckner showed up and we continued to all bust our butts to get things ready for the big day.

Once Saturday rolled around, almost everything was in place. Steve and Tex got here and started setting up the PA and lights, and people started rolling in. The music started around four and the party continued until the early hours of Sunday morning. The food was fabulous thanks to Buddha and Tony. Jamie, Josh, Chrissy and Jessi made sure everyone parked in the proper spots. My dad and his wife maned the donation booth the entire day. Tents were popping up around the yard and off in the woods. A lot of old friends came out and I met a lot of new folks that I am sure will eventually become old friends. The Raven Rock and Mountain Village neighbors were out in force, including a few that I had not met prior to Saturday.

Professor Bubblemaker was a huge hit with the kids and adults alike. The kids also expended a lot of energy on the bounce house, then regained that energy in the form of a sugar rush from the Create Your Own Cookie station.

The music was amazing and eclectic, and I heard great compliments about each and every performer. Jim Stallings did an awesome job as MC and provided a bit of comic relief while introducing the bands. After the main stage shut down sometime around midnight, the campfire was blazing and the Stagering Carddons, Tom Batchelor, Gregg Lowly and many other pickers headed over there for a late nigh jam that was a great night cap. And how could I forget to mention Big Moe, who may be what this party is eventually remembered for.

The next morning I awoke to a relatively clean yard. I was very happy with all the people who helped by not only cleaning up after themselves, but also after those who did not clean up after themselves. Brian, Ian, Dave Thomas and his wife Trish all hung around on Sunday to help get things picked up and packed away. Later that night we tapped the one leftover keg and relaxed around the campfire and reflected on the good time we had the day before.

On Monday, the garbage went out to the street (about 30 bags), and Dave, Mike, and Jamie came to help me get the stage down. Which brings me to today. Erin and I finally got more than 5 hours of sleep for the first time in about a week. Unfortunately though, Erin had to go back at work today. I am currently waiting for MPE to pick up the stuff we rented from them then I have to continue cleaning and getting things back to normal.

I want to say thanks to each and every one of you who came out an joined us. It was a great time that I will not soon forget. I hope you all had as much fun as I did.

There are a few folks that I want to once again give a big super special thanks to, because without them, this would not have happened.

In no particular order……

My Dad Rick Carrow and his wife Lori, Ian Bode, Brian Buckner, Dave Shaffer, Mike Smyth, Jamie Hamlin, Joe Watring, Chris Baker, Cody Hamlin, Jordan Hamlin, Dave Pell, Buddah and Tony, Josh, Chrissy, Jessie, Dave Thomas, Trish Thomas, Pam Porfeli, Kelly Fletcher, Dara Aliff-Lao, Dina Sharps, Don and Joni Sharps, Miss Mindy, Jason, Joni, Kristen, Steve and Tex from H.O.S.S., Rick McCandless and his family, Jim Stallings, Lindsey Clear, Big Jer, Brian Pickens, Nick Sickles, Forest, 100 Hurricanes, Staggering Cardoons, Tom Batchelor Band, Gregg Kelly, Jim Short, Justin Byers from De Lazy Lizard, Gary Tanenbaum from the Blue Moose, Brian Knight from DocuPrint, Ben from Rythem and Brews, Tony from Ralph’s Beer Distributor, Randy from Suburban Sanitation, Mandy from Team Health, all my neighbors who did not call the cops.

Finally, I once again want to express how lucky am to have a wife like Erin. She not only allowed me to indulge myself in this fantasy of producing a festival, but she also put up the money to make it happen. She and her friends and family busted their buts to help out, and I can only pray that she enjoyed the day as much as I did.

I will soon be posting lots of pictures and I ask if any of you have any pictures that you send them to me so that I can share them here.

Hope you all had a great time, and we will see you soon.

Travis

3 Responses to “See ya next year”

  1. WOW! Sorry we missed it. If you do this again next year, we’ll do our darndest to make the trip up from Miami!

  2. Pam Porfeli Says:

    Posted this on one area of this website last night, but you may not see it. I pledge a $100.00 donation to help with costs that aren’t covered. I had a so much fun and that is a small price for great food, great entertainment and totally outstanding company…not to mention a weekend with all of my grandchildren, children, those folks that are like my own children and my super cool brother and sister-in-law!!!!!! Thanks again!!

  3. JoAnn, you missed a fantastic time.

    Pam, thanks so much. I think the day was pretty close to perfect.

Leave a comment